Study finds that students learn more from non-tenure-track instructors | Inside Higher Ed

Study out today from Northwestern University that students learn more from adjunct, non-tenured professors than tenure track professors. “it says that the study may provide evidence that research universities benefit from more teaching by those who don’t have research obligations.”

I think is a good point to ponder. That we are losing sight of the true needs of today’s students as well as academic professionals.

Inside Higher Ed
Inside Higher Ed


Study finds that students learn more from non-tenure-track instructors | Inside Higher Ed
.

I would agree, but also add that the tenure track really needs to be examined. I think that there are those educators, like myself, that feel it is more important to educate the next generation than try to juggle so much. There has to be a balance, and the right questions asked for professional advancement. As a student, I wanted the professor there, and not always a grad student. I think there is a need for grad students to gain experience but to totally rely on them, is not acceptable. I feel that it was my duty to my students to teach to facts, to today’s trends and issues than rely on the book. There is a delicate balance needed for today’s students and we just can’t utilize the old ways of teaching, that have been the mainstay of years past.

I am passionate about what I teach. And it seemed that the students enjoyed that more than just lecturing to book information.yet there are universities out there that may not truly value and appreciate experience that some people bring to the job. Again, I think it is about achieving a balance and discussing professional aspirations with each faculty member. Research is important, don’t get me wrong, but again, I refer to that balance.

Let me give you an example…now I use a host of stories in all of my classes, Lauren can attest to that. I love teaching ethics. In ethics it is always difficult to keep political biases out of the fray. I talk to the students, of which I think a lot of professors do not accomplish or know how, explain that life is ripe with political bias and constipation (yes, constipation). It is difficult to trawl through the varying voices, even for me, to get at the heart of the decision. That is why you need to develop skills of listening, ask the right questions and understand that life is not black and white, there are varying shades of grey, colors, that will mix in, diversify a conversation. You have to know what is at stake, what it means for a host of people, those decisions you do make. But you have to be decisive ones, you have to go out there and sometimes not wait for an answer from someone or someone else to make a decision. Only through your own hard work at understanding where you are, where you live, what you do, your work, etc, can you make a decision. Sometimes your gut will tell you to do something and you have to make that instantaneous decision. A good mentor will sit down with you and discuss what happened, ask you what you might have done better, have you done anything you would change. They would use it as an educational moment for you in your development as a manager. And that is also someone who is in education is, in my opinion, to do as well. It’s not just about grades or achieving a certain grade. It is about a journey for both educator and student. We all have a stake in this…I could go on..

Leave a Reply

