I am unemployed….

Well, I’m unemployed.  I now have to work out how to get a job either back in academia or industry.  And on top of that I am moving, trying to find a place to settle in; a place that has more opportunity than my current middle of no where.  Boxes litter the floor, half packed and empty.  I am overwhelmed by all of it at times and bury my head under a pillow and silently scream in my head.  I need someone to come in here and tell me, pack that, pitch this.  It isn’t easy, never is.  Change is hard and wonderful.

I have had to make some decisions–a lot of them.  My to-do list would be several pages long if I really committed to paper everything.  But I know that I have to eat this elephant one bite at a time or I’ll not be able to accomplish anything.

Right now I am stuck, stuck on how to create a new resume/CV to obtain a job back out in industry.  I just don’t want to take any job.  One of the reasons, I took my past job because it came along and I was tired of playing the waiting game that is academia.  I learned my lesson.  I should have listened to my own inner voice that you have to play to your passions.  I tell my students that every day and now need to live up to that mantra.  You just don’t take a job for the sake of taking a job, unless this is that purgatory, that station between the bad and the good.  This time around I want ‘my job’ not someone else’s job.  Or what someone thinks I should be doing.  This is for me and no one else.  Not my parents or my siblings.  This is for me.

So, take deep breath, and try to navigate about the waters.  I have no compass, I have no map or guiding force.  It’s just me.  But I still don’t know where to begin.  So, I went to the first place I knew, the Internet and Amazon.  I purchased two books.  Start: Punch Fear in the Face, Escape Average and Do Work That Matters [Kindle Edition] and “So What Are You Going to Do with That?”: Finding Careers Outside Academia [Kindle Edition].  I started journaling certain exercises to narrow down what I want to do.

Working it out..
Working it out…

I realized that one phrase from the first book stood out–“People do not know what (insert age) looks like to you…”. Truthfully, no one does and as Acuff points out,

“Ninety-nine percent of the people on the planet do average. The road is well worn, the decisions are obvious, and the next steps are crystal clear.”–Acuff, Jon (2013-04-23). Start: Punch Fear in the Face, Escape Average and Do Work That Matters (Kindle Locations 343-344). Lampo Press. Kindle Edition.

I don’t want to do average anymore.  I want to do awesome, my awesome.  Getting there is now the battle.  I have to ask myself some basic questions, and map it out.  I just hate doing it.  I wish I could plug-in my brain and download all the stuff, baggage and not, from it and put it out on paper so I could see just what is there.  I wish I had a video tape of my life so I could pinpoint the stuff I loved to do, the stuff I hated.

So I guess I’ve invited you all on this journey.  Right now we are sitting in the station, figuring out if this is steam power or nuclear, and the right buttons to push, the right ones to turn and what fuel to add.  I know I’m behind the eight ball but damn if I’ll remain there long.  God, grant me patience but freakin hurry.

Wish me luck…

Leave a Reply

