Don’t throw the bath water out just yet…

Innovative culture part of the bigger mind map
Innovative culture part of the bigger mind map

Signed up for a course in the fall from the free database at Coursera called Creativity, Innovation and Change.  I am a stickler for innovation.  A friend and co-worker commented the other day about my use of mind-mapping that she had never heard of it before I arrived at my current local, job.  I am  not surprised by this, not many do use visual methods to solve problems.  I have always been a visual thinker and my parents can attest to that, having sneaked a box of crayons into my cot when I was a wee lassie and went Picasso all over my sheets.

I am envious, jealous, irritated, frustrated and astounded by the various forms of innovative techniques out there.  Again, choice I think has something to do with it.  I revert back to Marshall Mcluhan and Joseph Campbell when my brain goes into overload and is on the verge of ‘cracking’ as I call it.  That moment where you have a million thoughts going through your head and ‘bam’, like the computer, on overload, freezes and reboots.  I just can’t extract any more information or possible solutions without some means of shut down or stepping away, letting the thoughts incubate.

Maybe I should call it ‘fracking’?  I know the word is used by petroleum engineers to illustrate how water or fluids are forced into fissures in rocks to open them up further to extract oil and natural gas.  But think about it, are we not using innovation to open the cracks in the mind to allow for cognitive and reflective thought to illuminate various answers to problems.  If we want to be proactive in our thoughts about potential problems, would fracking be better term.  Does fracking have to be solely used by engineers?  This harkens back to my students and engaging them with the information that I know is embedded in their minds from four years of university.  How do I tap into those brain cells and open them up so that they can articulate their knowledge?

How do I challenge, push them to their limits to put to the test what they have gained?  I can see it in a few; how some have gone from a limited awareness to a greater awareness and employ that knowledge in written assignments.  But still, I need them to execute that knowledge.  Hence, frustration and irritation in myself.  “God, grant me patience but hurry.”

Another reasons why I have them examine my ‘Big Mind Map‘ and offer up their opinions.  I ask them if they can see the relationships?  Can they see the interplay of subject matter?  How can they use their own creativity to address problems that would slow down or create stagnation within the business environment?  It is not just about book learning, but about them going further, farther in their interpretation and application.  Why I have told them about this free course.

I want to, for a better word, push them over that precipice into a newer realm of thinking.

Leave a Reply

